Home > Devotion > Am I too bold in what I ask of God?

Am I too bold in what I ask of God?

Am I too bold in what I ask of God? Or am I not bold enough? He has a heart to give to me. He loves to do it. That is just the way He is.

I love to give gifts to my children.  My heavenly Father is the same way only much better at it than I  am. He loves to give us what we ask for. God is in a good mood.

I need to ask. That is my part. And I can be bold in it. I can ask for things I am reluctant or embarrassed to ask for. He actually wants me to ask.

The story Jesus told about the friend and asking boldly is amazing. The word used is variously translated as “boldness” or “persistence”. The actual Greek word is Anaideiaand is only used once in the New Testament. It is actually perhaps better translated as shamelessness or impudence. It could be “Have you no shame asking for that?”  “That is too much. How can you ask for that?” But when it comes to asking our heavenly Father it is not too much. Nothing is impossible with Him.

May I be bold in what I ask for.

 Then he said to them, “Suppose one of you has a friend, and he goes to him at midnight and says, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, because a friend of mine on a journey has come to me, and I have nothing to set before him.’ “Then the one inside answers, ‘Don’t bother me. The door is already locked, and my children are with me in bed. I can’t get up and give you anything.’ I tell you, though he will not get up and give him the bread because he is his friend, yet because of the man’s boldness he will get up and give him as much as he needs.

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

“Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead? Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? f you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!” Luke 11:5-13

Categories: Devotion Tags: , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

