Home > Personal > One giant leap for mankind … And it was!

One giant leap for mankind … And it was!

July 20, 1969. I had turned 15 just 2 days before. Much of my world view was being created at this time in life. Neil Armstrong made a difference to me.

I remember seeing the landing and Neil Armstrong was the first man — human– to ever set foot on the surface of the moon, and when he did, he spoke words that instantly lifted a generation’s eyes to the skies: “That’s one small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind.”

Stepping inside a rocket and blasting off into airless space to step firmly on sphere that, with just 1/6 the earth’s gravity, seemed ready to cast him back out into space. Astronauts like Armstrong had no guarantees they’d come home alive, and yet they did it for us, for science, for history and because something inside them said, “this is where we must go.”

That impulse made Armstrong and his kind unique among men and women. A quiet man with nerves of steel. A shy smile that hid true grit.

For me, I just want to thank Mr. Armstrong for giving me a memory I can never forget and a lifelong love and fascination for adventure. I suspect millions around the world feel the same.

  1. August 27, 2012 at 7:16 am

    Excellent blog. Up late i see Michael. I am just getting home after a very long day/night, it is 8am Monday. Jesus had a lot on his mind last nite :-))!

    • August 27, 2012 at 8:08 am

      Lance, thanks. There are moments from the ’60s that stick in my mind. That was one of them.

      Be blessed today (and get some rest).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

