Home > Devotion > Is God hard and unreasonable?

Is God hard and unreasonable?

One of the themes I hear about almost everywhere I turn is about how good God is and what a good mood he is in. The story of the bags of gold that Jesus told is on the same theme. I have heard a lot about using the talents God has given us as the message here. And it is. But part of it, maybe much of it, is about the heart we have for God and how we see Him.

Of the three men in this story, only one starts his conversation with God with an indictment of who God is. His first sentence revealed his heart. He believed at his core that God is a hard, stubborn, and stiff necked. WOW!!!

Now think about all the messages you have heard about God. Which fall in the “God is good” category and which fall into the “God is mean” category. What does God think about that?

Well, my oh my, did God get angry with him? His answer was blistering. Oh my goodness, he ticked Him off big time. This is not the kind of answer I want to get from my Father. I want the “well done” answer. I do not want the “you wicked and lazy” man answer. I want the “he has a heart after God” answer. I want Him to put His arm around me.

May I take what God gives me, have a heart that knows He is good and use what He gives me well.

Then the man who had received one bag of gold came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man.” Matthew 25:24

Categories: Devotion Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

