Home > Personal > Chipper Jones on his last game

Chipper Jones on his last game

Chipper Jones of the Atlanta Braves

Chipper Jones of the Atlanta Braves (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This was not the way it was supposed to end for Chipper Jones. Those who had seen him homer twice in his first career postseason game and again on his 40th birthday certainly had reason to expect a grand finale.

A sure-fire Hall of Famer and one of the greatest switch-hitters the game has known, Jones seemed destined to limp off into the sunset after drilling a walk-off homer in Game 7 of the World Series.

Instead, Jones exited the Braves‘ clubhouse on Friday night seemingly shell-shocked by what had transpired in a 6-3 loss to the Cardinals in the National League’s one-game Wild Card playoff. He committed a costly throwing error in St. Louis‘ three-run third inning and was limited to a broken-bat infield single in five at-bats.

“I wanted to come out here and play well,” Jones said. “Today, my heart is broken not for me, my heart is broken for my teammates and my coaching staff, and all these fans that have been so great to us this year.

“But I’ll be OK. It’s just one of those things. You come to the park, and I walk out of here knowing that I brought it every single day. I think when you walk out of here knowing that you brought it every day, it makes walking away on the final day a little bit easier.”

  1. October 8, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I saw the game and heard his comments. He seems like a class act! I felt bad that it ended this way for him but he seems comfortable with his decision.

    • Michael Wilson
      October 8, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      He left like he played, with his head held high. Great career.

  2. yomicfit
    October 9, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    As a Cardinals fan,
    I must say that no matter the call,
    The fans should not have reacted the way they did and what a sad situation that Chipper couldn’t even come out and take a moment with his fans.
    So sad to see the craziness preventing his moment to be appreciated.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

