Home > Devotion > Not of his own authority

Not of his own authority

Wow, after all that time. Imagine what he has seen Jesus do firsthand. How the words of our Lord must have stung. But it wasn’t cruelty. It was love. He was answering Philip’s question. And He wanted to be clear. And He was. What was happening wasn’t the ordinary. It was a new plan unfolding. It was good news even if it didn’t feel like it some days.

Jesus is challenging me to change my mind about who is in control. His authority is now established. It is real. I must keep leaning into His power. I must keep the relationship in tact. I must know Him. Now.

Jesus answered: ‘Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. John 14:9-11

Categories: Devotion Tags: , , ,
  1. October 12, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Wow Michael awesome blog God is really moving in the cyber-world thank you for linking my posts here. God Bless

    • Michael Wilson
      October 12, 2012 at 10:19 am

      God is in a good mood. Be blessed today. God is with you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

