Home > Personal > Have I mastered the basics as a disciple of Jesus? Am I ready to move on?

Have I mastered the basics as a disciple of Jesus? Am I ready to move on?

There are basics in being a disciple of Jesus. Are the following in place in my life?

  • Do I trust in God for everything and reject “self-help”?
  • Have I been properly baptized?
  • Have the leaders of the church layed hands on me and have I received the Holy Spirit?
  • Do I believe in the resurrection of the dead?
  • Do I live like there is an eternal judgement?

We can’t go on to maturity without having mastered the basics. If we haven’t mastered Jesus 101, we can’t take the advanced courses. God doesn’t work that way.

“The basic foundational truths are in place: turning your back on “salvation by self-help” and turning in trust toward God; baptismal instructions; laying on of hands; resurrection of the dead; eternal judgment.” (Hebrews 6:2 The Message)

Categories: Personal Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

