Home > Devotion > Is my goal popularity?

Is my goal popularity?

Is my goal popularity? The Apostle Paul was clear that wasn’t his goal. He knew what his goal was. His focus would lead him to do many unpopular things. There is a danger in caring what others think of us.

Much of our culture seems to focused on measuring popularity. How many friends do I have on Facebook or Twitter? What is my Klout score? Do friends “like” what I post?

Paul knows we should be focused. He knows we should be totally devoted to following Jesus, no matter what. That definitely won’t make us popular. We need to know that and be prepared for it. We should anticipate it with joy. There is nothing to compare with being in love with Him. This has nothing to do with human optimism.

“If my goal was popularity, I wouldn’t bother being the Messiah’s slave.” ~~Apostle Paul (Galatians 1:10 The Message)

  1. August 13, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Reblogged this on changeindirections.

    • Michael Wilson
      August 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm

      Thanks for the reblog. Be blessed. God is with you!!

  2. August 14, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Great post, Michael! In my former life, I was an elementary school teacher and a principal. Early on I learned that I could not worry about whether or not every one of my students (or teachers) loved me. The question was, “Do they respect me?” And more importantly, “Do I have respect for my own decisions and actions?” Being true to yourself and your values/morals/motives may not always make you popular, I discovered. But, 50 years later I still hear from some of the students who thought I was “mean” or “too tough” way back then… and this many years later, they have some pretty wonderful tales to tell! What has your experience been?

  3. Michael Wilson
    August 14, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Very much the same. Tough love and being your self goes a long way. Respect is huge. The focus I think is on: What does God want me to do? What He thinks is all that really matters at the end of the day.

    Be blessed. God is with you!!

  1. August 30, 2012 at 8:12 am
  2. September 20, 2012 at 8:08 am
  3. March 30, 2014 at 8:15 am
  4. March 30, 2014 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

